Hamburg and Lüneburg

1959392_10152342880340740_5789145871167284206_n

This week I read in a Swiss newspaper that Hamburg will be the European city to visit in 2015. I already knew this in 2014 because I went there this fall :).

1016921_10152342879930740_826496893535431856_n

When I first got back from my long around-the-world trip, I found it really hard to accept reality. That I was back home and for the first time in at least four years, I did not know when I would be able to travel the next time and where to. Therefore I was really glad that a friend from NZ was currently working in Hamburg and sparked the idea in me to visit him up there. Plus, I killed two birds with one stone because I could finally visit my relatives in the nearby city Lüneburg, whom I hadn’t seen in a long time. After that trip up north, I was much more relaxed about returning home, since I realized that no matter where I am, I could always go to an unknown place and do something fun. Just maybe not for 9 months straight.

1959863_10152342879820740_5660010484931801252_n

I took the ‘Deutsche Bahn’ from Basel to Lüneburg and was really lucky that although they were striking every other day that week, my trains were always unaffected. Lüneburg is an incredibly cute and pretty town with old stone houses, red roofs and restaurants along a river. In some lanes I felt like I was in Harry Potter’s Hogsmade. I climbed the water tower with my aunt and uncle, from where we had a great view and we went to the salt museum, which was very interesting. They also took me on a field trip to East Germany. The old borders are still marked with signs and panels with pictures to remind the awful history during and after WWII. Most impressive however was to speak to my relatives and other people who had actually lived there during that time and had to flee or couldn’t flee. It was better than any history lesson at school or any blockbuster movie.

10689520_10152342880020740_7819437197853478737_n

From Lüneburg, I took the metro to Hamburg. It seemed to me that Hamburg is a city of many facets. There is the big port where you can watch the huge container ships, the Speicherstadt with the channels that run between the big buildings. The old town with beautiful churches and the town hall, lakes with swans (people from Hamburg love swans, I learned this on the fun Sandman’s free walking tour), famous St. Pauli and the Reeperbahn quarter and my favorite place, the huge botanical garden Planten und Blomen. You already have to love this place because of its funny old German name. Unfortunately, in fall, everything was a bit dry and dying but still, I could imagine how awesome this would be in spring and summer. The kids were still enjoying the awesome playground which made me wish to be younger again too. Perhaps I’ll have to go back there in 2015 after all, or if not in another year, to see the park during summer. Then, they also have a fountain show which is supposed to be really good. Plus, this time, I also missed the fish market and I didn’t see a musical. Two other things for which Hamburg is famous. So you see, there is a lot to visit. I’ll be back for sure.

1891235_10152342880230740_3531189168443443768_n

3 thoughts on “Hamburg and Lüneburg

  1. the swans have the same meaning for Hamburg like the ravens in the Tower of London. It’s really nice to see when they are collected in autumn and let free in spring. They are some mystical birds. I really enjoyed reading your lines as I live here and know Lüneburg quite well.

  2. Seraina, I didn’t know that you went to East Germany. We also went there with Walter and Rosemarie and talked to one of the locals who lived just next to the border. His story about his life was very interesting but also very sad.

A penny for your thoughts

